Cake

Because even big kids like cute cakes!

I know that I have said before that I like to dabble in many different crafts, and one of my recent passions is cake decorating! But being a small family with only one child I don’t get the opportunity to play with cakes much. I’ve done a course in buttercream around 5 years ago. I’m not very skilled in fondant, but buttercream seems to suffice.

I recently celebrated a special “milestone” birthday. And being the Pinterest but that I am, I remembered seeing a cute and funny unicorn cake. So why not take on a challenging cake beyond my skills? Haha

This cute unicorn has over-indulged in some cake! The poor thing. But I can understand, the struggle is real 😉

This week I’ve learnt how to make my own modelling chocolate and make a figurine unicorn out of it. I also used cream cheese instead of buttercream this time, but managed to do the pastel, multi-coloured look. My only “fail” was trying to make a red velvet cake teal… it turned out green (still yummy though). Oh and macarons are very hard to make (these ones were yummy, but hollow) and meringues were surprisingly easy to make.

I hope you’ve enjoyed seeing another side to my crafts!

Until next time,

Andrea

Leave a comment